home sitesearch sitemap contact fan about
  Submit/Update Profile  

Search the Network:

Captains Network
Friends of the AN
History of UL Athletics
Photo Gallery
University Links
Site Dedication
Athletic Department
Community Links

AN News

Archived News

Back to Articles

Men's Basketball: Russell Earns NABC First-Team All-District Honors

Senior guard was named first-team All-SBC earlier this month

Matt Sullivan | Associate Director of Athletics Communications

Story Links

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Louisiana Ragin' Cajuns Men's Basketball player Cedric Russell picked up more postseason honors this week when he was named to the 2020-21 National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) Division I All-District teams and coaches, as selected by NABC-member head coaches in NCAA Division I.
Russell, who earned first-team All-Sun Belt Conference honors earlier this month, was a first-team District 23 selection which was composed of Sun Belt Conference players.
The senior guard finished among the SBC leaders in scoring, 3-point field goal percentage and 3-pointers made per game. The senior guard was 14th nationally in total made 3-pointers (76), 15th in 3-point FG attempts (190), 21st in 3-pointers per game (2.92), 22nd in total field goal attempts (363) and 36th in 3-point FG percentage (40.0)
Russell produced 10 games with 20-or-more points, with a season-high 30 coming at Arkansas State. He had 17 games with three or more 3-pointers with a season-high six coming at Texas State.
Russell opened the year with 26 points against then top-ranked Baylor in the #VegasBubble and scored 20-plus points in consecutive wins over in-state foes Louisiana Tech, New Orleans and McNeese.
Follow the Ragin' Cajuns on Twitter (@RaginCajunsMBB), Facebook (RaginCajunsMBB) or Instagram (@RaginCajunsMBB) to stay up-to-date on all that is happening with Louisiana Men's Basketball.
NABC District 23
First Team
DeVante' Jones - Coastal Carolina
Michael Flowers - South Alabama
Shahada Wells - UT Arlington
Cedric Russell - Louisiana
Ruot Monyyong - Little Rock
Second Team
Mason Harrell - Texas State
Corey Allen - Georgia State
Norchad Omier - Arkansas State
Marquis Eaton - Arkansas State
Caleb Asberry - Texas State
Coach of the Year: Terrence Johnson, Texas State