home sitesearch sitemap contact fan about
  Submit/Update Profile  

Search the Network:

Captains Network
Friends of the AN
History of UL Athletics
Photo Gallery
University Links
Site Dedication
Athletic Department
Community Links

AN News

Archived News

Back to Articles

Men's Basketball Announces 2019-20 Award Winners

Aucoin, Johnson, Russell, Wilson earn player award for Ragin' Cajuns

Matt Sullivan, Associate Director of Athletics Communications

Story Links

LAFAYETTE – Senior Mason Aucoin, juniors Jalen Johnson and Cedric Russell, along with freshman Mylik Wilson brought home top honors as the Louisiana Ragin' Cajuns Men's Basketball team released its 2019-20 awards on Friday.
The awards were to be presented at the Ragin' Cajuns Postseason Banquet, which was canceled due to the COVID-19 pandemic.
Aucoin claimed the Academic Achievement Award for the third consecutive season for the Ragin' Cajuns with Johnson claiming both the Offensive Player of the Year Award and Rebounder of the Year Award in his first season.
Russell was the recipient of both the Beryl Shipley Leadership Award and the MVP Award for the Ragin' Cajuns with Wilson earning Defensive Player of the Year honors in his first season.
Men's Basketball Athletic Trainer B.J. Duplantis and longtime Ragin' Cajuns Basketball supporter Jim McGehee were named the recipients of the Honorary Captain Award, which was presented by head coach Bob Marlin.  
Follow the Ragin' Cajuns on Twitter (@RaginCajunsMBB), Facebook (RaginCajunsMBB) or Instagram (@RaginCajunsMBB) to stay up-to-date on all that is happening with Louisiana Men's Basketball.
Academic Achievement Award (Presented and Sponsored by: David and Bobbie Fontenot) – Mason Aucoin
Beryl Shipley Leadership Award (Presented by: Evelyn Syrie and Dolores Shipley; Sponsored by: Evelyn Syrie) – Cedric Russell
Defensive Player of the Year Award (Presented By: Matt Savoy; Sponsored by: Matt Savoy in Memory of Ron Savoy) – Mylik Wilson
Offensive Player of the Year Award (Presented and Sponsored by: Ronnie Miller) – Jalen Johnson
Rebounder of the Year Award (Presented and Sponsored by: Karren and Tommy Hays) – Jalen Johnson
MVP Award (Presented by: Dr. Joseph Savoie, University President; Sponsored by: Mr. & Mrs. Dave Ardoin and Ken Ardoin) – Cedric Russell 
Honorary Captain Award (Presented by: Coach Bob Marlin) – B.J. Duplantis, Jim McGehee

home bank